Why?

I can hear people talking
All around
I can see their lips moving
But I can hear no sound

See their feet tapping
See the light in their eyes
Who are they trying to trick
I can see their lies

Everything’s an act,
Executed to perfection
As I sit on the edge
With my own preconceptions

I may be wrong
At least I have the audacity to say so
But I just can’t envisage the world
Simply going with the flow

You think I’m cavalier
You can’t be more mistaken
I’ve seen my fair share
My faith isn’t shaken

I can hear people’s thoughts
I can hear their groove
They’re all too generic
I can predict their next move

Everyone’s identical,
They exist to fill the Earth
The few who are original
Of them there is a real dearth

2 thoughts on “Why?

Leave a Reply

