Obscure Sorrow

She taps on my car’s window
Asks me to roll the glass low
I recognize that action
She begs for money for today’s ration

Her clothes are most shabby
Even her hair look almost rusty
But she still looks full of grace
Maybe it is the dust on her face

Her eyes are dry though
The moisture’s long gone
She’s lifeless and cannot be saved
Her childhood’s long gone

I want to help her
She looks like she’s starving
I want to help her
She may even be dying

But I still ignore her
Because that’s what I’ve been taught
She moves on,
Taps on the next car’s window
Because that’s what she’s been taught

Leave a Reply

